Hi. My name is Lily, and I’m a shopaholic.

30 Sep

Whenever I don’t feel like doing homework, FX saves me by having a How I Met Your Mother marathon on. Which is why I’ve been immobile on my couch for the past two hours. The last episode featured Lily divulging her secret shopaholic tendencies to Robin. She has 15 credit cards and a huge amount of credit card debt that she has kept secret from everyone until now. This is all the byproduct of her shopaholic tendencies. She is addicted to buying things (shoes and clothes in particular). There are flashback clips of her buying shoes from one store on several different occasions, all of which are when she is upset about something. This strikes a chord with me since I know that I have an emotional relationship with shopping too. It isn’t called “retail therapy” for nothing after all. I know that when I go shopping I instantly feel better when I buy things, and when I leave the mall with nothing I feel like I wasted my day. I think this resonates with a lot of people (women in particular). What is it about buying that makes us feel better? Do we equate “stuff” with happiness? What contributes to this? After pondering questions like these, it seems like this attitude of buying and acquiring things and linking that to positive feelings is a result of our culture. T.v. shows promote it (Sex and the City.. another guilty pleasure of mine), advertisements endorse it (if I buy a Fiat, I will be as happy, beautiful, and successful as J.Lo), and our economy is supported by it. We live in a world that revolves around commerce, with retail being a big part of it. Through mass media we have been brainwashed into thinking that objects are status symbols that we can identify ourselves by. We are happy when we find another item with which we can promote our self-image.

Watch the episode here to see what I’m talking about:   http://www.wwseries.com/?p=1833

K.F

One Response to “Hi. My name is Lily, and I’m a shopaholic.”

  1. Consumer Instinct (@consumaholic) October 3, 2011 at 1:53 am #

    Kerri,

    This is a very hot topic: How shopping helps elevate mood.

    Would like to hear more on this topic from you: your experience, your observation, etc.

    Regards,

    Teddy

Leave a Reply

